25 Comments

  1. A lovely photograph, the subject, the colours and the depth of field. Plus it’s got me thinking (again) about posting a single photograph as a blog post now and then. I always feel I have to have a good chunk of interesting writing (500-1500 words) to justify publishing a new post…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Dan.

      I am pathetic when it comes to writing. So I try and avoid the whole idea of including some text unless it’s really necessary. 🙂 As for the single photo thing, I used to have a few photographer friends who had their blogs made with “PixelPost”. Maybe you know about PP. I used to love their blogs and the whole concept of PP was one photo per post. Of course you can add more, but almost everyone used to go with this single photo per page theme. This is the main reason I decided to go with the same idea in my WP blog. PPost is dying though. The last update was sometime 2009 and majority of the blogs have moved out to other platforms. Sometimes I feel sad when I see the PP website, which I visit once in a while because I really love the themes they had! 🙂

      Like

      • No I’m not familiar with PixelPost. But I remember when I had a Tumblr blog maybe 10 years ago now, there was a whole labyrinthine network of bloggers posting and reposting pretty photographs, and it was always a single photo. So it sounds like a similar concept to PixelPost. One could lose hours following them!

        I tend to write a lot and punctuate the text with three or four photographs. Doing the odd post with just a photo is appealing to have a chance of pace and to give me more time to finish writing the next “full” written post.

        I’m curious about your history with this blog. Do you mind me asking? It seems it’s only a few months old but you seem to have a lot of followers and comments. Did you bring an audience from previous blogs, or do you think you’ve built this’s audience from posting daily, as you seem to do?

        I’m curious about growing my readership and how posting more frequently (currently I post every three days) might boost that. Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Dan, thanks for the detailed comment. I will reply you later tonight as I have a slightly hectic day ahead. 🙂

          Like

        • Really sorry the delay in getting back to you Dan. To answer your questions, my blog is exactly 85 days old as of today, and no, I did not bring in any visitors from elsewhere. This is a fresh blog I started in WordPress to do a “Project 365”, i.e., a post a day for the entire year. I don’t think it’s the daily posting routine that has brought visitors to my blog because there are lots of blogs with huge number of followers and they don’t post daily. In fact, some don’t even have a posting routine. In my blog’s case, maybe it’s because I interact with other blogs as often as I can that I am getting some visits in return that reflects in the view / follower count. That said, the count is most likely to drop in the near future because I am unable to find as much time as before to spend in WP.

          As to growing your readership, I am afraid I am as clueless about it as you. 🙂 I have seen lots of blog posts about how to grow your readership, etc. Maybe you can google for some tips and follow some of their suggestions and see if it works.

          Like

          • Thanks for your reply. Interesting to hear what’s working for you.

            I like to visit and contribute to other blogs too. I just don’t like that surface level interaction you get on apps like Instagram – I’ll “like” your photo if you “like” mine or I’ll follow you if you follow me. I only think it’s worth commenting on someone else’s work/photography/writing if you enjoyed it and have something to say about.

            I’ve been blogging for a long time so know the basics, I was just surprised when I discovered your blog and saw how much interaction you’re getting, then looked at the archives and they only went back to January.

            It will be very interesting to see how this evolves and grows over the rest of the year and beyond. Keep up the good work!

            PS/ Is dilip your name, or just the name of your blog?

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.